Back to top

Welcome

Organic is one of the most dynamic and fast-growing segments of the U.S. agricultural market and is an increasingly important engine of growth for New York's farmers, large and small. Cornell supports organic agriculture and dairy through numerous research and extension activities.

The information on this website is a valuable resource for farmers and gardeners, agricultural educators, governmental agency representatives, university faculty and extension educators, and all others interested in organic production systems.

Visit the producers and gardeners resources pages for specific production strategies for everything from squash to seed corn.

COVID-19 resources

COVID-19

Need information? View the following Cornell CALS and CCE Resource Pages

General Questions & Links: 
https://eden.cce.cornell.edu/
Employment & Agricultural Workforce Questions:
http://agworkforce.cals.cornell.edu/
Cornell Small Farms Resiliency Resources:
https://smallfarms.cornell.edu/resources/farm-resilience/
Financial & Mental Health Resources for Farmers:
https://www.nyfarmnet.org/

Cornell Organic News

Subscribe to RSS news feed
GDD Base 50 March 1 - April 8

Weather Outlook – April 9, 2020

Apr 9, 2020

Last week temperatures ranged from near normal to 8 degrees above normal. Precipitation has ranged from one inch. Base 50 growing degree-days ranged from 0-10.

potatoes

Organic Seed Potato Production Webinar Available!

Apr 6, 2020

A webinar on Organic Seed Potato Production by Rue Genger of the University of Wisconsin-Madison is being held on April 15th at 2PM Pacific (3PM Mountain, 4PM Central, 5PM Eastern). It is free and open to the public.

Herbicide resistance increasing over time world wide

Statewide herbicide resistance screening to start in 2020: Help us to help you!

Mar 24, 2020

Beginning in 2020, we will undertake a screening effort to describe the distribution of herbicide resistance in the state. This coming summer and fall, growers, crop consultants and allied industry personnel who suspect they have herbicide resistance are encouraged to contact Dr. Lynn Sosnoskie to arrange for weed seed collection.

men cleaning cabbage

CCE educators help farmers meet new produce safety codes

Mar 5, 2020

All farms that meet market and income requirements and which grow fruits and vegetables commonly eaten raw are now required to comply with a new set of regulations aimed at keeping fresh fruits and vegetables free of microbial contamination from such pathogens as Listeria and Salmonella. Thankfully, CCE is here to help farmers navigate new produce safety codes.

Pages